Linux Playing

17 Feb

In the last week I’ve been attempting to transition from Windows to Linux. I’m working on some code that is all set up to run on Linux and I really would like to use a proper IDE to work through it, rather than my current work though which is writing the code in NotePad++ and ssh-ing into the server. The other reason why I would like to set up in Linux is that the university’s Windows image is bloated and eats too much of my 2GB of memory.

Last time I tried to use Linux, one of my favourite bits of software, Rescue Time was not easily working. That combined with not HAVING to be in Linux meant that I never spent much time in that partition. Now, as I’m moving to a new project, I’m determined to get there.

I knew I didn’t like the new Ubuntu interface, had heard good things about Mint, liked the look of Cinnamon, so decided to go with that. I first tried to set it up as a virtual box, lack of memory and a bloated windows image prevented it being usable. Went with the dual boot root.

Setting up the dual boot was odd. University laptop (still under warranty and they get grumpy seeing non-windows software) that is bios passworded, and the boot order will do the hard drive before a CD. Thankfully, Mint doesn’t come with an installer you can start through Windows. First you need to decompress the .iso, then there is an .exe you can run. This is the bit that confused me. At first it looked like it was just a partitioner. I didn’t realise that I had to reboot the computer to get into Mint. Once that was done it all went smoothly.

I really like the layout of Cinnamon. The start menu has everything categorised and had the search bar that I love from Windows Vista/7. The tool bar was nice and small and I could easily add on quick launch icons.

Setting up most software wasn’t an issue. Rescue Time I had to manually add it to the start up list. Latex seems to work differently and won’t download single packages on the fly. Instead all the tex packages are divided up in lumps, like tex-live-science and tex-live-extras. Couldn’t work out where the elsarticle class was hiding, so eventually just got tex-live-all. Now I can easily draw chess boards and musical notation.

 

2 Responses to “Linux Playing”

  1. gilbertc555 18 February, 2013 at 4:05 am #

    You can do it! Take the leap 🙂

    • rungekuttta 18 February, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      Heh, slowly getting there. Only really one barrier left, which is working out how to get LibreCalc to make tables for me in latex. Sonething like excel2latex. I don’t mind writing the extension myself, if I could find documentation on how to write extensions

Leave a Reply

