How to create ‘authoritative voice’ in your writing

3 Jul

This post came at a really appropriate time for me: just when I was looking at improving my grammar. Posting it here for future reference (and really just to see what the reblog feature does).

BTW: since I’m getting a fair bit of traffic to this post: I blogged about another list of words I like to use here, the pdf is here (wordList)

The Thesis Whisperer

For some inexplicable reason, perhaps to do with Woodstock, kaftans, free love and the rest, the education department in Australia decided to abandon the teaching of grammar in the late sixties and didn’t start again, as far as I can tell, until the mid 80s. I am the ultimate product of a 1970’s education, therefore I am profoundly grammar challenged.

type instructionsI was taught that commas were placed when you feel like taking a breath (mostly wrong) and semi colons were irrelevant (so wrong). Other parts of my language knowledge are thin and I still cannot name any part of a sentence with certainty. By the end of primary school my writing was lively and fun, but full of errors. My love of writing quickly died when my teachers tried to correct the problems in high school and it didn’t really come back until I started to blog.

Some teachers…

View original post 1,124 more words

One Response to “How to create ‘authoritative voice’ in your writing”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Word Lists | I like stuff - 3 July, 2013

    […] I mentioned in that post that I just reblogged (and really the premise for this blog), I need to improve my writing. I think I need to mostly […]

Leave a Reply

